Difference between revisions of "MIBS Simplified Rules of Coordinated Consensus through Chaos 2009 Proposal"

From HacDC Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(New page: {{Floating TOC}} This is my proposal to amend the "MIBS Simplified Rules of Coordinated Consensus through Chaos", our standing rules. == Summary == * Shift the burden of actual business...)
(No difference)

Revision as of 14:09, 21 February 2009


This is my proposal to amend the "MIBS Simplified Rules of Coordinated Consensus through Chaos", our standing rules.

Summary

  • Shift the burden of actual business and proposals to a once monthly meeting
  • Allow for informal, casual social gatherings on non-"monthly" meetings.
  • Improve the membership admission procedure

Section I : Specific Types and Conduct of Meetings

Standard Regular Meetings

Standard Regular Meetings are to be as informal as possible while facilitating productive discussion on matters affecting the organization.

The agenda of said meetings shall consist of Minister reports and items suggested for discussion as arranged and agreed to by consensus of the membership.

These meetings shall be informally guided by the Coordinator in Chief or their designate. Meeting minutes shall be taken by the Keeper of the MIBS or their designate and made available to all members for comment and clarification. As such, all those attending have a responsibility to produce accurate minutes of the meeting. Meeting minutes need not take any particular format as long as the substance of the meeting discussion is clear.

The only official items of business to be considered at a Standard Regular meeting are:

  • Approval of the last Standard Regular Meeting's minutes
  • Admission of a new member.

Ministers shall be present at all Standard Regular Meetings and available to receive feedback or entertain questions applicable to their office. Ministers unable to attend shall submit an applicable written report via any means available to the membership as a whole.

In the event quorum is not reached at a Standard Regular Meeting, the duty to produce a report of what was discussed remains in effect on those attending.

Standard Regular Meetings may take no longer than one hour if a member scheduled event immediately follows.

Formal Regular Meetings

Formal Regular Meetings shall take place monthly on dates decided at the Annual Meeting.

Formal Regular Meetings shall be conducted under Roberts Rules of Order. For purposes of those rules, the last Formal Meeting shall be considered the prior meeting, though the discussions from Standard Regular Meetings shall be admitted into the record.

Special meetings, as called per procedure in the Bylaws, shall be considered a Formal Regular Meeting.

Section II: Standing Rules

Standing Rule 1 : Admission of Members

Any eligible person present at any meeting, provided a quorum is present, may present themselves for election as a member.

Upon visual approval of the member candidate, they shall be considered a member as soon as their first periodic dues have been paid or waiver granted. If admitting the member would break quorum, they shall be considered a member at the close of the meeting.

The Minister of Finance and Keeper of the MIBS will coordinate to ensure all member privileges have been conveyed to all newly admitted members. They shall jointly issue a report on the current membership count at every meeting.

The Minister of Finance may grant member privileges to any member candidate, provided that notification is given electronically to all members and posted in a conspicuous place in the registered office.

Standing Rule 2 : Special Meetings at other times

To accommodate the needs of the members as well as any potential pressing issues, the Ministers shall schedule Special Meetings at times other than the regularly scheduled time.

For the purposes of Article III, Section 3, "Special Meetings", a petition may be considered signed if any member electronically conveys their approval for such a proposed meeting to all other members through a means established by the Ministers.

Standing Rule 3 : Annual Meeting Business not determined at the Annual Meeting

For the purposes of Article III, Section 2, "Annual Meetings", if any required business is not conclusively determined by resolution at the Annual Meeting, said business must be entertained as the first orders of business at the next regularly scheduled Formal Regular Meeting

Section III: Meeting Dates

The dates of Standard or Formal meetings are to be set by resolution at the Annual Meeting.

For 2009, through dates determined at the 2010 meeting, the Meeting Dates are as follows:

  • Tuesday, Febr. 24, 2009 Formal
  • Tuesday, March 03, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, March 10, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, March 17, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, March 24, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, March 31, 2009 Formal
  • Tuesday, April 07, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, April 14, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, April 21, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, April 28, 2009 Formal
  • Tuesday, May 05, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, May 12, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, May 19, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, May 26, 2009 Formal Regular Meeting (Note: Day after Memorial Day)
  • Tuesday, June 02, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, June 09, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, June 16, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, June 23, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, June 30, 2009 Formal
  • Tuesday, July 07, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, July 14, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, July 21, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, July 28, 2009 Formal
  • Tuesday, August 04, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, August 11, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, August 18, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, August 25, 2009 Formal
  • Tuesday, September 01, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, September 08, 2009 Standard (Note: Day after Labor Day)
  • Tuesday, September 15, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, September 22, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, September 29, 2009 Formal
  • Tuesday, October 06, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, October 13, 2009 Standard (Note: Day after Columbus Day)
  • Tuesday, October 20, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, October 27, 2009 Formal
  • Tuesday, November 03, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, November 10, 2009 Standard (Note: Day before Veteran's Day)
  • Tuesday, November 17, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, November 24, 2009 Formal (Note: Two days before Thanksgiving)
  • Tuesday, December 01, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, December 08, 2009 Standard
  • Tuesday, December 15, 2009 Formal
  • Tuesday, December 22, 2009 Standard (Note: Beginning of Christmas Holiday)
  • Tuesday, December 29, 2009 Standard

Note: The following meeting dates are only scheduled until the next interceding Annual Meeting

  • Tuesday, January 05, 2010 Standard
  • Tuesday, January 12, 2010 Standard
  • Tuesday, January 19, 2010 Standard (Note: Day after MLK Day)
  • Tuesday, January 26, 2010 Formal
  • Tuesday, February 02, 2010 Standard
  • Tuesday, February 09, 2010 Standard
  • Tuesday, February 16, 2010 Standard (Note: Day before Washington's Birthday)
  • Tuesday, February 23, 2010 Formal
  • Tuesday, March 02, 2010 Standard
  • Tuesday, March 09, 2010 Standard
  • Tuesday, March 16, 2010 Standard
  • Tuesday, March 23, 2010 Formal